Institute of Professional Studies

HNC Certificate in Computing

Apply Now
Which academic year are you applying for?
Sun Widget

THe Details


The Level 4 Higher National Certificate provides a solid foundation in computing,  which students can build on if they decide to continue their studies. The Level 5 Higher National Diploma allows students to specialise by committing to specific career paths and progression routes to degree-level study.

The HNC in Computing is made up of mandatory core units which are delivered throughout the year. You can expect to study the following units on this course.


Mandatory 1: Programming

Mandatory 2: Networking 1

Mandatory 3: Professional Practice

Mandatory 4: Database Design & Development

Mandatory 5: Security

Mandatory 6: Planning a Computing Project

Mandatory 7: Software Development Lifecycles

Entry Requirements

Completion of Level 3 Subject Specialist Qualification


Assessment based

Course Info

Full Time Higher Education

Download PDF

HE Specification

Download the HE Spec here

No items found.